May 22, 2012

John Bordelon, Jake A. Farlow and Joshua M. Sartin received the 2011-2012 Clayton Engineering Excellence Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Student; and Scott A. Parr and Thomas Foster Scherr received the 2011-2012 Clayton Engineering Excellence Award for Outstanding Graduate Student. The awards were presented at the LSU College of Engineering Hall of Distinction ceremony on April 26 at the Lod Cook Alumni Center on the LSU campus.

Warren Waggenspack, associate dean for academic programs proclaimed, “These students serve as ambassadors for the LSU College of Engineering and model the characteristics that we now refer to as the ‘LSU Engineer.’”

Bordelon grew up in Mandeville, La., with his parents and sister, Jane. He attended Fontainebleau High School and graduated in 2008 when he enrolled at LSU. Bordelon is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering with a minor in Russian. His research area is involved with nanophotonic devices.

Farlow, a native of Lafayette, La. Who graduated from Lafayette High School in 2008, is a senior in biological engineering and has earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5. He currently works for the LSU AgCenter with Steven G. Hall, associate professor, on various projects related to process automation for alligator research, artificial oyster reefs for shoreline protection and autonomous boats offering solutions for environmental tasks. The results of this work appear in several published articles and pending publication in various texts, such as Louisiana Agriculture Magazine and the Journal of Aquacultural Engineering. Farlow is currently an active member in the Biological Engineering Student Organization, the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers and the Aquacultural Engineering Society. He is enrolled in the Accelerated Master’s Program and plans to obtain his masters of science degree at LSU.

Sartin is a 2003 Dutchtown High School graduate and U.S. Marine Corps veteran. Upon completing his tour of duty, Sartin enrolled at LSU to study civil engineering, earning a 3.76 GPA in all engineering courses and maintains an overall cumulative GPA of 3.66. Sartin has volunteered with Habitat for Humanity and Baton Rouge Food Bank and is a member of the LSU Steel Bridge/Concrete Canoe team.

The Donald W. Clayton Engineering Excellence Award is granted each year to an outstanding undergraduate student(s) who exhibits extraordinary character, scholastic achievement and evident leadership in the College of Engineering. Nominations are made by faculty, staff and students. The award entails a stipend of $5,000 and a commemorative plaque.

Parr grew up in Pembrook Pines, Florida, graduated from Pembroke Pines Charter High School and attended Florida Atlantic University (FAU) in Boca Raton. His research career began by receiving an undergraduate Department of Homeland Security Summer Research Internship. He then worked as an undergraduate research assistant at the Center for Intermodel Transportation Safety and Security located at FAU and later went on to receive an International Study Abroad Internship, traveling to Cologne, Germany to conduct research on First Responders and Transit Disasters. After successfully completing his master’s degree, he moved to Baton Rouge to start his Ph.D. work in transportation engineering with Brian Wolshon, PE, professor in the Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, and director, Gulf Coast Center for Evacuation & Transportation Resiliency. Parr is currently conducting research at the Gulf Coast Center for Evacuation and Transportation Resiliency at Louisiana State University. 

Scherr is from Owings Mills, Md., and graduated from Mount Saint Joseph High School in Baltimore in 2003. He completed his undergraduate studies in chemical engineering at the University of Delaware in 2008. While pursuing his bachelor’s degree, he spent two years researching block copolymer thin films with Thomas H. Epps, III, assistant professor, DuPont Young Professor. After receiving his bachelor’s in chemical engineering, he continued as a research technician with Liyun Wang, associate professor, in the Center for Biomedical Research at the University of Delaware. During his time, Scherr studied solute transport in arthritic knee joints.

In January of 2010, Scherr joined Krishnaswamy Nandakumar’s, professor, Gordon A. and Mary Cain Chair in Chemical Engineering, computational fluid dynamics group at LSU. His research has been focused on modeling the flow of biological samples in microfluidic devices. He is currently collaborating with members of Todd Monroe’s, PE, associate professor, research group in the Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering at LSU, designing and optimizing a micro-total analysis system for the activation of cryopreserved cells.

Since his arrival in Baton Rouge, La., Scherr has been awarded an NSF-IGERT Fellowship, a Coates Research Grant and a Graduate School Scholars Program Award. He is active within his department and serves as President of the Chemical Engineering Graduate Student Association. Scherr hopes that these experiences along with his research background will prepare him for a future career in academia. 

The Clayton Engineering Excellence Award for Outstanding Graduate Student is granted each year to an outstanding graduate student (s) who exhibits extraordinary character, scholastic achievement and evident leadership in the College of Engineering. This award entails a stipend of $10,000 to the recipient and a $2,000 stipend to the graduate student’s principal advisor/faculty member. 

The awards were founded in 2004 through a generous donation by Donald W. Clayton (BS PETE, 1959), who was inducted into the College of Engineering Hall of Distinction in 1993, and Gloria Pichon Clayton.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit