June 8, 2011

LSU mechanical engineering professor, Sumanta Acharya, has been named the 2011 recipient of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the science of heat transfer category.

The Heat Transfer Memorial Award is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of heat transfer through teaching, research, practice and design, or a combination of such activities. Each award is based on achievement through publications, patents or inventions in an area of heat transfer or through the application of science or art of heat transfer.

The 2011 ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award was presented to Acharya for his “seminal and long lasting research contributions in gas turbine heat transfer and combustion, natural and mixed convection, and computational methods enabling improved design of gas turbine engines, enhanced capability of computational fluid dynamics software and a better understanding of complex transport phenomena."

Acharya currently holds the L.R. Daniel professorship in LSU’s Department of Mechanical engineering and is the founding director of the Turbine Innovation and Energy Research Center, or TIER, which focuses on energy generation and propulsion research.

For nearly 30 years, Acharya has developed nationally and internationally recognized research programs covering the areas of heat transfer, combustion, fluid mechanics and scientific computation. His scholarly contributions total nearly 150 refereed journal articles, most of which appear in top-tier journals of his field.

"It is extremely gratifying that nearly 30 years of my work at LSU is being recognized nationally and internationally,” said Acharya. “When I look back at the three decades that have flown by so quickly, I am proud and grateful of the many dedicated and hard working students who contributed so much to the research we have done here.”

Acharya has been recognized with several teaching and research awards in the course of his academic career. He was honored with the Dow Outstanding Teacher and the LSU Alumni Distinguished Faculty awards in 1997. Acharya was named an ASME Fellow in 1999 and earned the LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award in 2001, among many other distinctions. 


For more information, contact Cassie Arceneaux, College of Engineering, carcen6@lsu.edu or (225) 578-0092 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit