April 8, 2011

The LSU College of Engineering welcomes three new inductees, Robert A. “Bob” Deason, Roy O. Martin III, and Stephen Michael Moret, to its 30th annual Hall of Distinction on Thursday, April 7, at 6:30 p.m., at the LSU Faculty Club.

Deason, a native of Natchitoches, Louisiana, received a B.S. in civil engineering from LSU in 1970. Deason is the former president and chief executive officer of J. Ray McDermott, Inc. In 1966, he joined the U.S. Marine Corps. and served a tour in Vietnam. He also received an Executive M.B.A. from the University of Michigan. Deason retired as president and CEO of J. Ray McDermott, Inc. in 2009, but maintains a professional relationship with the company as a consultant.

Martin was born in Alexandria, Louisiana, and earned a B.S. in mechanical engineering (Tau Beta Pi) from LSU in 1982. He continued his education at LSU, obtaining his M.B.A. in 1985. Martin is president and CFO of Roy O. Martin Lumber Company, L.L.C., Martin Timber Company, L.L.C., and Martin Companies, L.L.C. He is a director and co-founder of Indigo Minerals, LLC, a Houston-based oil and natural gas exploration company, and Perforex Forest Services, L.L.C., a Louisiana logging company.

Moret earned a B.S. in mechanical engineering from LSU in 1995, where he was elected president of the student body. In 2001, he received an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School, where he was elected co-president of the student body and was a recipient of the Dean's Award for exceptional leadership and service. Moret was appointed secretary of the Louisiana Department of Economic Development (LED) by Governor Bobby Jindal in January 2008.

Richard Koubek, dean for the College of Engineering stated, “The College of Engineering is honored to recognize three stellar engineering alumni for our 30th annual Hall of Distinction. Bob, Roy and Stephen have enacted strong leadership through transformative roles in their respective professions, and impressive contributions to society. These three inductees represent the true significance of the LSU Engineer.”

Criteria for election include distinguished professorial achievement, dedicated service to engineering and outstanding humanitarian activities. Eligibility is not limited to LSU alumni, although it is expected that nominees will have had some connection with and shown interest in LSU. Nominations may be made by anyone, and are solicited each year from alumni, faculty and friends of the college. Election to the Hall of Distinction is by a broadly constituted ten-member board of election, which reviews and acts on nominations.

In 1979, the CoE established the Hall of Distinction to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the engineering profession. Seven charter members were elected that year, and, generally, two achievers in engineering have been added each year since.

For more information about this year’s distinguished recipients or about the Hall of Distinction, contact Mimi LaValle at 225-578-5706 or mlavall@lsu.edu.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit