April 13, 2010

LSU’s Dr. Louay N. Mohammad, Irma Louise Rush Stewart Distinguished Professor, Transportation Faculty Group Coordinator, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Engineering Materials Characterization Research Facility Director for Louisiana Transportation Research Center was presented with the 2009 Asphalt Rubber Ambassador Award by the Rubber Pavement Association at the 2009 Asphalt Rubber Conference held in Nanjing, China, November 2-4, 2009. This Award recognizes individuals for their scholarly research and implementation initiatives of asphalt rubber in pavement construction.

Recently, Mohammad was appointed to the Executive Committee on Characteristics of Bituminous-Aggregate Combinations to Meet Surface Requirements, on behalf of the Transportation Research Board (TRB) until April 2013. TRB is a division of the National Research Council (NRC), a private, nonprofit institution that provides expertise in science and technology to the government, the public, and the scientific and engineering communities. The NRC is jointly administered by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the Institute of Medicine. Members of NRC technical committees serve as individuals, not as representatives of the organizations by which they are employed or of which they may be members.

- 30 –

Article by Mimi LaValle, LSU College of Engineering, 225-578-5706, mlavall@lsu.edu

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit