April 18, 2009

On April 16, 2009, Interim Dean W. David Constant welcomed guests to the 30th Annual College of Engineering (CoE) Hall of Distinction awards program at the LSU Faculty Club. Jack R. Hopper and Donald W. Keller were inducted as the newest members to the CoE Hall of Distinction.

Hopper, a Highlands, Texas native, received his PhD in chemical engineering from the LSU CoE in 1969. Keller, born in New Orleans, received a bachelor’s degree from LSU in petroleum engineering in 1957. Both men have maintained active interest in and direct support of both the CoE and the university as a whole.

“As I read over the past recipients of the LSU College of Engineering Hall of Distinction, I can’t help but be overwhelmed that I was considered, much less selected,” said Hopper. “It is with great pride that I personally knew so many of these outstanding individuals and that I had the opportunity to be taught by some, to be taught with some and work with some of the recipients.” Hopper currently serves as executive assistant to the president for economic development and industrial relations at Lamar University in Beaumont, Texas.

Keller, managing partner of KPlus Investments, a Keller family partnership, is equally excited about being honored by his alma mater.

“I feel truly honored to be inducted into the LSU College of Engineering Hall of Distinction. To receive such an honor along with the other inductees from past years is by far the highlight of my professional career,” said Keller.

Criteria for election include distinguished professorial achievement, dedicated service to engineering and outstanding humanitarian activities. Eligibility is not limited to LSU alumni, although it is expected that nominees will have had some connection with and shown interest in LSU. Nominations may be made by anyone, and are solicited each year from alumni, faculty and friends of the college. Election to the Hall of Distinction is by a broadly constituted 10-member board of election, which reviews and acts on nominations.

Constant stated, “The College of Engineering is honored to recognize such excellent engineers for this year’s Hall of Distinction. Both Jack Hopper and Don Keller show the type of commitment to excellence that reflects well on the College of Engineering and LSU.”

The College of Engineering created the Hall of Distinction in 1979 to recognize people who have contributed to the engineering profession. Seven charter members were inducted the first year, and generally two more are elected each year. Inductees exhibit distinguished professorial achievement, dedicated service to engineering, and outstanding humanitarian activities, as well as a strong connection to LSU.

For more information on Hopper and Keller, including their reflections of LSU and past member information, please visit http://www.eng.lsu.edu/awards/hod_membership.html

To view photos from this and past Hall of Distinction banquets, click here.

Article by Mimi LaValle, LSU College of Engineering, 225-578-5706, mlavall@lsu.edu


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit