November 4, 2009

LSU honored its list of 2009 "Rainmakers" at the annual Rainmakers Gala on October 13. The dinner and award ceremony recognized 100 exceptional members of the LSU faculty for their pioneering research and innovative scholarship in earning the highest levels of outside funding and mentoring the finest graduate students.

Ten of these professors represented the College of Engineering:

Sumanta Acharya, Department of Mechanical Engineering professor; director of Turbine Innovation and Energy Research Center; Fritz and Frances M. Blumer Professor in Mechanical Engineering; L.R. Daniel, Jr. Professor in Mechanical Engineering. Acharya's areas of specialization include computational fluid dynamics, gas turbine blade cooling, gas turbine combustion, experimental heat transfer, fluids, and combustion.

Steve Cai, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering Associate Professor. Cai's areas of specialization include: bridge engineering, prestressed concrete, wind engineering, structural dynamics, and structural performance evaluation and rehabilitation.

Q. Jim Chen, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering Associate Professor. Chen's areas of specialization include coastal engineering, prediction of storm surge and ocean waves, numerical modeling of coastal processes, nearshore circulation and sediment transport, and design of coastal structures.

Roy Dokka, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering professor; director of Center for GeoInformatics; director of Louisiana Spatial Reference Center; Fruehan Family Professor in the College of Engineering. Dokka's areas of specialization include earth systems science and engineering, and applications of the global positioning systems and geographical information systems.

Todd Monroe, Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering Associate Professor. Monroe's areas of specialization include biophotonics, bio-MEMS, and molecular and cellular engineering.

Michael Murphy, Department of Mechanical Engineering professor. Murphy's areas of specialization include biomechanics, microstructures and devices, systems dynamics, and control.

Jagannathan Ramanujam, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering professor; John E. and Beatrice L. Ritter Distinguished Professor in Electrical Engineering. Ramanujam's areas of specialization include compiler optimizations for high-performance computers, embedded systems, electronic design automation, high-level synthesis, computer architecture, and parallel computing.

Jerry Spivey, Department of Chemical Engineering professor; director of the Energy Frontier Research Center; James M. Shiver Professor in Chemical Engineering; and Gordon A. and Mary Cain Professor of Chemical Engineering. Spivey's areas of specialization include heterogeneous catalysis applied to environmental and energy problems, and kinetics and reaction engineering.

Christopher White, Department of Petroleum Engineering Associate Professor; holder of Chevron Endowed Professorship in Petroleum Engineering. White's areas of specialization include reservoir engineering, reservoir characterization, applied mathematics, and computer programming.

Mary Julia Wornat, Department of Chemical Engineering professor; Robert Hughes Harvey Endowed Professor in Chemical Engineering; and Graduate Advisor in Chemical Engineering. Wornat's areas of specialization include combustion, energy utilization, environmental pollutants, and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons.

Recipients of this honor are nominated by their fellow faculty members on a yearly basis, giving all professors a chance to be recognized for their achievements in any given year. All faculty members are eligible for the award with no regard to their tenure at LSU and nominees are accepted from all disciplines on the LSU campus.



Article by Colette Burke, LSU College of Engineering, 225-578-5706,


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit