May 18, 2007

Seven Engineering students received the “Distinguished Communicator” award. They are Chemical Engineering major Anino Adokpaye, Biological and Agricultural Engineering majors Laura Gauthreax and Sarah Owend, Electrical Engineering major Ishtiaq Rouf, and Mechanical Engineering majors Dave Leedom, Stephanie Simmons, and Shawn Treadaway.  Along with these seven, Meredith LaPre, a Mass Communications major, also received the award.

The Distinguished Communicator award recognizes students who demonstrate exemplary levels of communication skills during their undergraduate years. Upon completion, students have their transcripts annotated to reflect that they earned the Distinguished Communicator designation. 

LSU awarded eight Distinguished Communicator awards at the Spring 2007 commencement.  This is the first time for LSU to hand out these honors. Recipients are selected on the basis of completing twelve hours of approved courses, submitting a digital portfolio, participating in internships or co-ops, demonstrating leadership and maintaining a GPA of 3.0 in Communication Intensive courses.

Congratulations to all of the recipients, especially the students representing the College of Engineering.For more information, visit:

Article by Justin Schexnayder, LSU College of Engineering, 225-578-5706,

- 30 -

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit