November 14, 2006

COE staff members Cheryle Peters and Gerry Masterman were selected as two of the thirteen recipients of the LSU Outstanding Service Award for 2006.  The award recognizes full-time non-academic staff members for their superior work performance and outstanding contributions in aiding in the achievement of departmental and university goals.

Recipients were presented with recognition certificates and $500 cash awards during the Ceremony November 14, which was attended by recipients’ family members and co-workers, as well as by William Jenkins, LSU System president; John Costonis, Paul M. Hebert Law Center chancellor; Sean O’Keefe, LSU chancellor; and William Richardson, LSU AgCenter chancellor.

Mrs. Peters has been with LSU since 1999.  While she is currently the Coordinator of the Minority Engineering Program in the College of Engineering, Mrs. Peters has also worked as the Retention Coordinator for the Minority Engineering Program and recently took over the Research Experience for Undergraduate Programs at LSU.

Mr. Masterman, Research Specialist, is the supervisor of the Petroleum Engineering Research and Technology Transfer Laboratory (PERTT Lab) for the College of Engineering at LSU.  He also supervises student workers and works as building coordinator, facility operator, and maintenance manger in the Petroleum Engineering department.


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit