April 14, 2005

As the 2005/2006 academic year slowly approaches, Dean Zaki Bassiouni has selected the five faculty members who have received an endowed professorship. Recipients are recommended by the Professorship Advisory Committee, and approved by the Dean. The professorships are awarded in recognition of the faculty member’s contribution to the LSU College of Engineering.

The Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering’s Dr. Richard L. Bengston received the Edward McLaughlin Professorship for Excellence in Undergraduate Studies. The McLaughlin Professorship is funded by 13 advisory board friends of the former dean, Edward McLaughlin, to honor his accomplishments and outstanding contributions to the College. It is devoted to rewarding excellence in undergraduate instruction.

The Mr. & Mrs. A. J. M. “Bubba” Oustalet Distinguished Professorship was awarded to Dr. Martin Feldman, a professor in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. The Oustalet Professorship, funded by A. J. M. Oustalet, emphasizes the area of sales and marketing as an excellent career choice for engineers. Mr. Oustalet graduated in mechanical engineering from LSU in 1947.

Dr. Jorge L. Aravena, also a Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering faculty member, received the Oskar R. Menton Professorship, funded by Mr. & Mrs. Oskar R. Menton in recognition of his contributions to LSU and the College of Engineering. Mr. Menton graduated from LSU in 1938, receiving his degree in electrical engineering.

The John E. & Beatrice L. Ritter Distinguished Professorship was awarded to Dr. Jagannathan Ramanujam of the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. The Ritter Professorship is funded by Mr. & Mrs. J. E. Ritter. Mr. Ritter graduated from LSU in electrical engineering in 1935; his entire career thereafter was spent with Exxon.

Finally, the Alfredo M. Lopez Professorship was appointed to Dr. Lesek S. Czarnecki. Mr. Lopez, a retired vice president of research and development with ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company, established this professorship in 1997. Dr. Lopez received his bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees from LSU in chemical engineering in 1963, 1965 and 1967, respectively. He currently serves as a member of the Chemical Engineering Board of Advisors.

These professorships were bestowed upon the five faculty members Thursday, April 14th at the College’s Hall of Distinction program. Each professorship carries with it an annual stipend to support the professors’ academic endeavors.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Digg
  • Delicious
  • Reddit