The LSU Engineering Hall of Distinction proudly welcomes two distinguished engineers who have been inducted as members this year.

  • Karen Brack and John Graves
  • 2015-2016 LSU College of Engineering
  • Hall of Distinction Inductees

In 1979, the College of Engineering established the Hall of Distinction to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to the engineering profession. Seven charter members were elected in 1979, and generally, two achievers in engineering have been added each year since.

Criteria for election include distinguished professional achievement, dedicated service to engineering, and outstanding humanitarian activities. Eligibility is not limited to LSU alumni, although it is expected that nominees will have had some connection with and show interest in LSU. Nominations may be made by anyone, and are solicited each year form alumni, faculty, and friends of the College. Election to the Hall of Distinction is by a broadly constituted ten-member Board of Election, which reviews and acts on nominations.

In the past, the engineers elected to the Hall of Distinction have come from widely varied backgrounds from the highest levels of engineering research to the top management of multinational corporations.

In honoring these people, the College of Engineering feels that it is, at the same time, honoring all those engineers whose contributions, although not all visible to the public, are nonetheless significant and collectively exemplify engineering as a profession unparalleled in its contributions to society.

Hall of Distinction Photo Galleries
Hall of Distinction Nomination Form

Past Hall of Distinction Inductees
Biographies linked below were current as of the date of induction.
Reflections are not available for all inductees.
* indicates that the Hall member is deceased