Leadership Team

Craig Harvey, Associate Dean, Academic affairs

Dr. Harvey began his tenure at LSU in 2006 as an assistant professor of industrial engineering, after working in academia at Wright State University and the University of Oklahoma and in industry at Lockheed Martin Space Operations and NASA-Johnson Space Center. He also served in the United States Air Force Reserve.

At LSU, he has acted as the interim chair of the Department of Construction Management and Industrial Engineering, and most recently as Program Director of the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering and associate professor of Industrial Engineering.

Dr. Harvey earned his bachelor’s degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology and his master’s and Ph.D. from Purdue University, all in industrial engineering. His research interests include control room management, process improvement, healthcare and usability engineering.

Joseph Odenwald, Assistant DEAN, ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

As Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs, Dr. Odenwald leads the Student Services team in providing counseling and advising to students as they matriculate through the College of Engineering. This includes supporting the Engineering Residential College, addressing student appeals and concerns, maintaining partnerships with community colleges, facilitating orientations and graduations, and providing assistance to the various academic programs.

Dr. Odenwald earned his bachelor’s degree from Louisiana College, his master’s degree from Mississippi College, and his doctorate in higher education administration from The University of Southern Mississippi. He joined the LSU College of Engineering in February 2014, and he and his wife, Laura, reside in Baton Rouge.

Ami McGucken, Assistant Dean for Administration

As Assistant Dean of Administration, Ami McGucken is responsible for the operational aspects of the College including: Computing Services, Facilities, Finance, and Human Resources. Prior to joining the College in August of 2012, she worked at Pennington Biomedical Center as a trial recruiting manager. Ami earned both her Bachelor of Science and Master of Science from Louisiana State University.

Sydni Dunn, Interim Director, External Relations

As the Interim Director of External Relations, Sydni Dunn leads a group of talented individuals to advance public awareness and understanding of the LSU College of Engineering's mission. In this role, she is responsible for the College's external relations activities including: media, government, corporate and alumni relations, as well as the College's recruiting and outreach initiatives. Prior to joining the College in March 2015, as the Communications Manager, Dunn was a staff reporter at The Chronicle of Higher Education, in Washington, D.C., where she covered national news and trends related to academic labor, the academic job market and graduate education. Dunn holds a Bachelor of Arts from LSU's Manship School of Mass Communication. 


Jada Lewis currently serves as Assistant Dean of Diversity for the College of Engineering at Louisiana State University. She received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Chemical Engineering from LSU and also has a Master’s Degree in Government with dual concentrations in Law and Public Policy and Public Administration from Regent University. Prior to joining LSU College of Engineering, she held positions as a Regional Technical Advisor for the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality and as an Operations Planning Engineer for Motiva Convent Refinery.  She is currently serving as an elected member of the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

Steven Covington, Senior Director, Development

A native of Baton Rouge, Steven Covington most recently served as the Senior Director of Development for the LSU College of Music and Dramatic Arts. His career includes fundraising and executive positions with Loyola University in New Orleans, the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa and Sunburst Youth Homes Foundation in Wisconsin. Covington received degrees from Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, LA, and St. Mary's University of Minnesota.

Department Chairs

Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering
David Constant
Department Chair, holder of the Humphreys T. Turner Professorship

Cain Department of Chemical Engineering
Judy Wornat
Department Chair, holder of the Robert Hughes Harvey Professorship and Reymond Professorship

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
George Z. Voyiadjis
Department Chair, Boyd Professor, holder of the Bingham C. Stewart Distinguished Professorship

Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management
Charles Berryman
Department Chair, holder of the Contractors Educational Trust Fund Professorship

School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science
Division of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Jerry Trahan
Division Chair, holder of the Chevron Professorship

Division of Computer Science & Engineering
Bijaya Karki
Division Chair, Associate Professor of Computer Science

Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Dimitris Nikitopoulos
Department Chair, Alexis and Marguerite Voohries Endowed Professor of Mechanical Engineering, holder of the Richard J. and Katherine J. Juneau Distinguished Professorship

Craft & Hawkins Department of Petroleum Engineering
Karsten Thompson
Department Chair, holder of the Leonard Longwell Professorship